Who's involved

i Concluded

This means the HIT is no longer active

Some of the leading experts in emergency and primary care in Bristol are involved in ITHAcA. The HIT management team is comprised of:

  • Lead directors: Sarah Purdy, Associate Dean, Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Bristol and
    Peter Goyder, Urgent Care Clinical Lead at Bristol Clinical Commissioning Group
  • Co-ordinator: Helen Baxter, Senior Research Associate, Social and Community Medicine and Researcher in Residence for
    Urgent Care at Bristol, South Gloucestershire and North Somerset Clinical Commissioning Groups

The leadership team

  • Jonathan Benger, Professor of Emergency Care, University of the West of England (UWE), Consultant in Emergency Medicine, University Hospitals Bristol NHS Foundation Trust (UHBristol) and lead for emergency department care, UHBristol and UWE
  • Peter Brindle, R&D Programme Director – Avon Primary Care Research Collaborative, Lead for Commissioning Evidence Informed Care, West of England AHSN, Lead for Evaluation and Commissioner Liaison, CLAHRC West, Visiting Professor for the University of West of England and Honorary Reader for the University of Bristol
  • James Calvert, Deputy Medical Director, North Bristol NHS Trust (NBT) and lead for NBT and expert resource COPD work stream

Advisors to leadership team

  • Melanie Chalder, Research Fellow, University of Bristol
  • Alyson Huntley, Systematic Review Research Fellow, University of Bristol
  • Ali Heawood, Senior Lecturer in Qualitative Methodologies, University of Bristol
  • Leah Bowen, Research Associate (urgent care), University of Bristol
  • Matthew Booker, GP and NIHR Doctoral Research Fellow (Urgent Care), University of Bristol
  • Richard Morris, Professor of Medical Statistics, University of Bristol


  • University of Bristol: John Henderson, Professor of Paediatric Respiratory Medicine
  • University Hospitals Bristol NHS Foundation Trust (UHBristol): Nabil Jarad, Consultant Respiratory Physician
  • Bristol Community Health: Aileen Fraser, Clinical Director
  • Commissioning: Jo Underwood, Programme Director – Transformation at South West Commissioning Support Unit, Inge Shepherd, Programme Manager, Children and Maternity Commissioning at NHS Bristol Clinical Commissioning Group, Martin Jones, Chair of Bristol Clinical Commissioning Group